Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Stuffed Zucchini Boats are a great way to get lots of types of veggies in your meals, and have fun!  There are so many different ways you can stuff a zucchini boat and if you love zucchini as much as I, I encourage you to make this recipe your own!!

*Please note I only cooked for myself, so this recipe is only enough for one person—also, don’t forget to take out or add any veggies you want to!

Ingredients: 1 zucchini, spinach, 4 mushrooms, 3 stocks of asparagus, vegan mozzarella cheese, vegan cream cheese, seasonings of your choice (I used Lowry’s Seasoned Salt, Cayenne pepper, garlic salt, and Worschershire sauce)

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees F (190 C)

Cut your mushrooms into small pieces and put them on the stove (med heat) with a little olive oil or vegan butter, slice your asparagus (I used left overs, so my asparagus was already cooked. If you are using fresh, you may want to cook your asparagus until about halfway cooked before adding mushrooms) and add with mushrooms.  Immediately add about 2 handfuls of spinach. **Do not cook until completely finished, as later, they will be in the oven for 40 minutes**

DSC_0303DSC_0304

While your veggies are cooking,  cut the top and bottom off of your zucchini, and slice in half (hotdog style for anyone who remembers this term from elementary school) Next, you make your 2 halves into “boats.” I love zucchini, so I didn’t want to cut too much out so I would lose the flavor or waste too much zucchini.  I cut 2 lines with a butter knife, and the skinny rectangle just popped out easily when I ran my knife from one slit to the other.

When your spinach is cooked down just enough so it’s wilted, put the contents of the pan into a bowl.  Add vegan cheese (to your liking), and about 1 ½ tablespoons of vegan cream cheese (or more if you’d like).  Mix it all up until the cream cheese is mixed into the veggies.  Add optional seasonings while you mix, also.

DSC_0305

Note: If you don’t have the cheeses, or don’t like them, you can definitely leave them out—I added them so my veggies would stay better when I put them into my boat

Next, stuff your zucchini boat with your veggies!

DSC_0306

In your baking dish, add about 1 cup of water to the bottom and then place your boats in the dish. (Be very careful not to let all of your toppings take a swim!)

DSC_0308

Bake for 40 minutes

(Taking the boats out of the dish, without burning yourself or again, not letting your toppings go swimming, is quite a task. I used 2 forks on opposite sides, and moved very slowly, which was successful!)

DSC_0309

Enjoy!!

With love, Aly ❤

Leave a Reply

